

## 1. Purpose

The Honorary Awards Committee (the "Committee") will select the recipients of honorary degrees, the Order of Athabasca University, and other honorary awards.

The Committee will make recommendations to the Board of Governors (the "Board") regarding the establishment of additional honorary degrees and awards and the disestablishment of existing honorary degrees and awards.

## 2. Membership

The membership of the Committee shall include:

- The President shall serve as Committee Chair
- Chair, Board of Governors
- 1 Public Member of the Board
- Provost & Vice President, Academic
- 2 full time academic faculty members appointed by General Faculties Council
- 1 Student Member of the Board
- 1 Dean appointed by the Deans
- Tutor Member of the Board

## 3. Responsibilities

Without restricting the generality of its role and within its delegated authorities, the Committee will:

- 3.1 Recommend to the Board the establishment of additional honorary degrees and awards and the disestablishment of existing honorary degrees and awards;
- 3.2 Call for nominations for, and select recipients of, honorary degrees and awards recipients. In so doing:
  - 3.2.1 Members of the Committee may nominate honorary degree and award recipients.
  - 3.2.2 Nominations for honorary degrees and related proceedings of the Committee will remain confidential.
- 3.3 Determine how many honorary degrees and awards (if any) are to be conferred for each convocation; and
- 3.4 Oversee the ceremonial life and protocols of the institution.