

1. Purpose

The Academic Research Committee advises on the overall research goals of Athabasca University, oversees the distribution of designated or allocated research funds, recommends on research policies and procedures, and supports research activities.

2. Membership

The membership of the Academic Research Committee shall be:

- Associate Vice President, Research
- Four (4) full-time academic faculty members, one (1) elected by each of the Faculty of Business, the Faculty of Health Disciplines, the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences, and the Faculty of Science & Technology
- One (1) non-academic staff member with research duties contained within their position description, elected by General Faculties Council ("Council")
- Manager, Research Services (non-voting member)

The Chair is elected by and from the members of Academic Research Committee for a two-year term and may be removed by vote of the majority of members.

3. Responsibilities

The Academic Research Committee has the following powers and duties:

- 3.1 Review and recommend academic research policies and procedures to Council.
- 3.2 Advise Council on the overall research goals for the University.
- 3.3 Adjudicate grants and awards for the Academic Research Fund and any other relevant awards.
- 3.4 Review the activities of the Academic and Professional Development Fund, Research and Study Leave Travel and Relocation Fund, and the Graduate Student Research Fund.
- 3.5 Where the Chair of Academic Research Committee deems it necessary, a special meeting of the Committee shall be called to deal with urgent matters.

The Research Centre shall act as the Secretary to Academic Research Committee. All agendas and minutes of Academic Research Committee and its sub-committees and ad hoc committees must be filed with the University Secretary.