Skip To Content

Athabasca University

Dr. Derek Briton, Academic Staff Member

Dr. Briton is currently an Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Studies in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. Prior to commencing his academic career, he worked in the construction industry as a licensed electrician and served as Recording Secretary and President of IBEW LU 424. He holds a PH.D. in Educational Policy Studies (University of Alberta), an M.Ed. in Adult and Higher Education (University of Alberta) and a B.A. (Hons.) Philosophy (first class) (University of Alberta).

Dr. Briton is the recipient of: the Province of Alberta Award, Errol T. Anderson Memorial Scholarship, Dr. John MacDonald Scholarship in philosophy, Province of Alberta Graduate Scholarship, Wilfrid R. May Graduate Scholarship, Mary Louise Imrie Graduate Student Award, J. Gordin Kaplan Graduate Student Award, Dr. Ted Aoki Award, Province of Alberta Graduate Fellowship, Walter H. Johns Graduate Fellowship, Andrew Stewart Memorial Prize, and a SSHRCC Doctoral Fellowship. He resides in St. Albert, Alberta.


Updated October 23 2018 by Advancement Web Services

AU, CANADA'S OPEN UNIVERSITY, is an internationally recognized leader in online and distance learning.